European Masters Scholarship in Rural Development

Erasmus Mundus


The joint International Master in Rural Development (IMRD), part of the European Commission’s Erasmus Mundus JMD programme, offers the opportunity to become an international expert on rural development in its diversity of approaches and applications, on a scholarship provided by the European Union.

The IMRD master course programme, is a high level academic programme aimed at training top students from all over the world into specialists in integrated rural development, focussed on socio-economic and institutional aspects; not only from the European Union but also from developed, developing and transition countries outside the EU.

The  IMRD master course programme is a 2 year master programme (120 ECTS) jointly organised by 16 worldwide leading universities in rural development and agricultural economics. The methodology consists of a combination of basic and specialised training in technical, economic and social sciences, a case study of one month, an individual master thesis and a high extent of student and scholar mobility.

Academic Requirements 

The minimum academic admission requirements are:

1. Bachelor’s degree of minimum 3 years from a university or recognized equivalent
2. Good overall scores (at least a second class or equivalent, preferably higher)
3. Basic science training (demonstrable in the transcripts) in the following fields:

(1) mathematics and/or statistics;
(2) agronomy and/or biology and/or environmental sciences; and
(3) social sciences and/or rural development and/or economy.

Are you likely to be admitted to IMRD? What are your chances? Test yourself! Click here
Through IMRD you can study at least one semester at the folowing universities:

within Europe
outside Europe
  •  Ghent University (Belgium)
  •  ESPOL (Ecuador)
  •  Humboldt University of Berlin (Germany)
  •  China Agricultural University (China)
  •  Agrocampus Ouest (France)
  •  Nanjing Agricultural University (China)
  •  University of Pisa (Italy)
  •  University of Arkansas (USA)
  •  Wageningen University (The Netherlands)
  •  University of Pretoria (South Africa)
  •  Slovak University of Agriculture in Nitra (Slovakia)
  •  University of Agricultural Sciences of Bangalore (India)

Depending on their geographic interest and foreseen specialisation, students may opt for a regional and specific comparative course programme which leads to the awarding of a double degree on rural development and agricultural Economics (i.e. the IMRD joint diploma + a national diploma of a non-EU partner).

For more info visit their website: IMRD Website.

Share with friends: