Erasmus Mundus Master’s Journalism, Media and Globalisation Scholarship

Students, International group

The Mundus Journalism Consortium is able to offer a limited number of ‘Erasmus Mundus’ student scholarships for students entering the programme from 2012 – 2016.

Tuition Fees

In 2015-17 the fees for the whole two-year course are expected to be:

€8,000 for EU nationals and
€16,000 for non-EU nationals.

The scholarships are divided into category A and B scholarships. For the 2015-17 edition of the Mundus Journalism programme the consortium will award:
erasmus mundus journalism media globalisation master

Erasmus Mundus Category A scholarships for third country (non-EU) students

Category A scholarships are expected to be worth €48,000 for the 2015-2017 programme. The fee is subtracted from the scholarship. There is free insurance for Mundus stipend holders.

Category A scholarships can be awarded to students from countries other than the 28 EU member states (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, The Nederlands, Portugal, the UK, Sweden, Cyprus, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Czech Republic, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain) and the EEA-EFTA states (Norway, Lichtenstein, Iceland).

Furthermore, you must comply with the 12 months rule: you are not a resident nor have carried out your main activity (studies, training or work) for more than a total of 12 months over the last five years in the above mentioned countries. The five-year reference period for this rule is calculated backwards as from the application submission deadline.

Additional Category A scholarships are expected to be available for a limited number of students from:

Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, DPR Korea, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Vietnam.

Central Asia
Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan.

Middle East
Iran, Iraq, Yemen.

Latin America
For Latin America at least 25% of the students must come from Lower Middle Income Countries (Bolivia, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Paraguay), a maximum of 35% of students from Brazil and Mexico together, and 40% come from the following countries (Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, Panama, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela).

South Africa

Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Syria and Tunisia.

Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Territory of Ukraine as recognised by international law.

Gulf countries
Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates.

Erasmus Mundus Category B scholarships for European (EU/EEA) students and others

Category B scholarships are expected to be worth €23,000 for the 2015-2017 programme.

Category B scholarships can be awarded to any student who does not fulfil the criteria for a category A scholarship. The Category B scholarships are connected to the ‘Study Abroad’ programme at our non-European partners (Please find further details in the application form).

European students who are granted a Mundus scholarship will have to study module 5 and 6 in the spring semester at one of our global partner universities: University of California at Berkeley; University of Technology Sydney; and Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile (also Module 4 in Chile).

General EU rules for Erasmus Mundus Scholarship

Students fulfilling the eligibility criteria for both Category A and B (eg. students with a double nationality) must select the Category of their choice. As a result, they are entitled to apply only to one of the two categories of scholarship at a time.

Students must have obtained a first higher education degree before the course start of the Mundus Journalism.

Individuals who have already benefited from an Erasmus Mundus scholarship for a Master’s programme are not eligible for a second scholarship for another Erasmus Mundus Master’s programme.

Students benefiting from an Erasmus Mundus scholarship cannot benefit from another Community grant while pursuing their Erasmus Mundus Master’s studies.

University specific scholarships

  • Aarhus University
  • City University London
  • University of Hamburg
  • University of Amsterdam
  • University of Swansea

More info: Erasmus Mundus Master’s Journalism, Media and Globalisation Scholarship

Share with friends: